Homework
 
September 12, 2016
*See "Class Documents" for  THIS WEEK AT A GLANCE 
1. "I Am" poem due Friday, September 16
2. Plot Elements Quiz on Friday, September 16
*SUMMER READING NOVEL MUST BE FINISHED BY MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26 (WE WILL BEGIN WRITING THE LITERARY ANALYSIS ESSAY ON THAT DAY) 
 
September 12, 2016
1. "I Am" poem due Friday, September 16
2. Plot Elements Quiz on Friday, September 16
3. "Evidence Ditto" on "The Dinner Party" due tomorrow
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26
 
September 13, 2016
1. "I Am" poem due Friday, September 16
2. Plot Elements Quiz on Friday, September 16
3. Finish Class work on "The Dinner Party" (Questions for Thought, Critical Thinking, Writing)
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26
 
Thursday, September 14, 2016
1. "I Am" poem due TOMORROW
2. Plot Elements Quiz TOMORROW
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26 
 
Monday, September 19, 2016
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Finish Free Write (as it relates to this week's theme)
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26 
 
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
1. Please finish composing Rough Draft of RACE paragraph (Final Draft is due tomorrow, at the end of the period)
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26 
 
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
*Final Draft of RACE paragraph due at the end of the period today
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26
 
Thursday, September 22, 2016
1. Finish reading, highlighting, and annotating "What's the Worst That Could Happen" (PLEASE SEE "ANNOTATING TIPS WORKSHEET" UNDER CLASS DOCUMENTS)
*SUMMER READING ESSAY BEGINS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26
 
Friday, September 23, 2016
*PLEASE BRING ALL MATERIALS NECESSARY TO BEGIN THE SUMMER READING ESSAY :) 
 
Monday, September 26, 2016
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents) 
1. Please write the ROUGH DRAFT of the Introduction (Summer Reading Essay)
2. Quiz on "Dream" and "What's the Worst That Could Happen?" on Wednesday 
 
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
1. Please write the ROUGH DRAFT of the FIRST Body Paragraph (Summer Reading Essay)
2. Quiz TOMORROW on "Dream" and "What's the Worst That Could Happen?" 
 
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
1. Please write the ROUGH DRAFT of the SECOND Body Paragraph AND the CONCLUSION (Summer Reading Essay)
 FINAL DRAFT DUE FRIDAY
 
Thursday, September 29, 2016
1. Please type the FINAL DRAFT of the Summer Reading Essay (DUE TOMORROW)
*Font 12; Times New Roman; Double-spaced 
 
Monday, October 3 and Tuesday, October 4
SCHOOL CLOSED
 
Wednesday, October 5
*Please see This Week at a Glance under Class Documents 
1. Please finish reading, highlighting, and annotating "The Children's Story"
*Vocabulary Quiz and Literature Quiz  on "The Children's Story" NEXT FRIDAY (10/14)
 
Thursday, October 6
1. Prepare for Vocabulary Quiz and Literature Quiz on TCS next Friday, October 14
 
Friday, October 7
1. Finish answering "The Children's Story" questions in packet
*Vocabulary Quiz and Literature Quiz based on TCS next Friday, October 14 
 
Monday, October 17
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please finish reading, highlighting, and annotating "Charles" 
*Literature and Vocabulary quizzes on "Charles" next Tuesday, October 25 
 
Tuesday, October 18
1. Finish Text Evidence Questions (due next Monday, October 24) 
*Literature and Vocabulary quizzes on "Charles" next Tuesday, October 25
 
Wednesday, October 19
SRI Testing
1. Finish Inference and Textbook Questions (due next Monday, October 24)
*Literature and Vocabulary quizzes on "Charles" next Tuesday, October 25
 
Thursday, October 20 and Friday, October 20
1. Finish ALL questions on "Charles"(due Monday, October 24)
*Literature and Vocabulary quizzes on "Charles" on Tuesday, October 25 
 
Monday, October 24
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Literature AND Vocabulary Quizzes on "Charles" TOMORROW
2. Please bring your Independent Reading Book EVERY DAY this week
 
Tuesday, October 25
1. Read IRB and bring it to class EVERY DAY this week
 
Wednesday, October 26
1. Please organize notes on A&E Biography on Edgar Allan Poe
2. Read IRB and bring it to class EVERY DAY this week
 
Thursday, October 27
1. Please organize notes on A&E Biography on Edgar Allan Poe
2. Read IRB and bring it to class TOMORROW
 
Friday, October 28
1. Read IRB 
 
Monday, October 31
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please read IRB and bring it to class tomorrow
 
Tuesday, November 1
1. Finish reading, highlighting, and annotating "The Tell-Tale Heart"
2. Read IRB and bring it to class tomorrow
 
Wednesday, November 2
1. Please complete Character Development Sheet and answer all "The Tell-Tale Heart" packet questions 
2. Read IRB and bring it to class tomorrow
 
Thursday, November 3
1. Family Fun Night!!!
 
Friday, November 4
1. Read IRB and bring it to class on Monday 
 
Monday, November 7
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please review for "The Tell-Tale Heart" Literature Quiz AND "The Tell-Tale Heart" Vocabulary Quiz
(Quizzes will be on Wednesday, November 9)
 2. Please read your IRB (Bring your IRB to class EVERY DAY)*Book Report due November 23
 
Wednesday, November 9 and Thursday, November 10
1. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23
 
Monday, November 14
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please read, highlight, and annotate pgs. 1 and 2 in "The Murders in the Rue Morgue"
*Quiz on "Murders" on November 22 
2. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23
 
Tuesday, November 15
1. Please read, highlight, and annotate pgs. 3-5 in "Murders"  
*Quiz on "Murders" on November 22
2. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23
 
Wednesday, November 16
1. Please read, highlight, and annotate pgs. 6-10 in "Murders"
*Quiz on "Murders" on November 22
2. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23
 
Thursday, November 17
1. Please read, highlight, and annotate pgs. 10-16 (stop at "Be ready...") in "Murders"
*Quiz on "Murders" on November 22
2. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23
 
Friday, November 18
1. Please read, highlight, and annotate pgs. 16-19 in "Murders"
*Quiz on "Murders" on November 22
2. Please read IRB (Bring IRB to class EVERY DAY) *Book Report due November 23 
 
Monday, November 21
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Study for "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" Quiz (QUIZ TOMORROW)
2. Remember your IRB is due WEDNESDAY
 
Tuesday, November 22
1. IRB due TOMORROW
 
Wednesday, November 23
Have a happy and healthy Thanksgiving!!!
 
Monday, November 28
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents) 
1. Please read and highlight the article on Charles Dickens AND answer the questions based on the article, as well.  
 
Tuesday, November 29
1. Read Stave I in A Christmas Carol (to the bottom of page 13)
2. Answer Stave I questions 1-5 only in the "Background" packet
 
Wednesday, November 30
1. Finish reading Stave I in ACC
2. Answer Stave I questions 6-9 in the "Background" packet
 
Thursday, December 1
1. Read Stave II in ACC (to the bottom of page 45)
2. Answer Stave II questions 1-6 only in the "Background" packet
 
Friday, December 2
1. Finish reading Stave II in ACC
2 Answer Stave II questions 7-9 in the "Background" packet 
 
Monday, December 5
1. Read Stave III (pages 55-73)
2. Answer Stave III questions 1-7 in the "Background" packet
3. ACC Vocabulary Quiz on December 13
4. ACC Test on December 20
 
Tuesday, December 6
1. Finish reading Stave III
2. Answer Stave III questions (8-16) in the "Background" packet
3. ACC Vocabulary Quiz on December 13
4. ACC Test on December 20
 
Wednesday, December 7
1. Read Stave IV in ACC (to page 100)
2. Answer Stave IV questions (1-6) in the "Background" packet 
3. ACC Vocabulary Quiz on December 13
4. ACC Test on December 20
 
Thursday, December 8
1. Finish reading Stave IV in ACC
2. Answer Stave IV questions (7-12) in the "Background" packet
3. ACC Vocabulary Quiz on December 13
4. ACC Test on December 20
 
Friday, December 9
1. Read Stave V in ACC
2. Answer Stave V questions (1-8) in the "Background" packet
3. ACC Vocabulary Quiz on December 13
4. ACC Test on December 20 
 
Monday, December 12
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please study ACC Vocabulary (Quiz TOMORROW)
2. ACC Test on Tuesday, December 20
 
Tuesday, December 13
1. Please complete "Ebenezer Scrooge" packet
2. ACC Test on Tuesday, December 20
3. ACC Character Analysis Essay due Wednesday, December 21
 
Wednesday, December 14
1. Continue working on Ebenezer Scrooge Character Analysis Essay (Due December 21)
2. ACC Test on December 20
 
Thursday, December 15
1. Continue working on Ebenezer Scrooge Character Analysis Essay (Due December 20)
2. ACC Test on December 20
 
Friday, December 16
1. Continue working on Ebenezer Scrooge Character Analysis Essay (Due December 20)
2. ACC Test on December 20 
 
Monday, December 19
*Please see This Week at a Glance (under Class Documents)
1. Please prepare for A Christmas Carol Test (Tomorrow)
2. Please finish Ebenezer Scrooge Essay (Due Wednesday)
 
Tuesday, December 20
1. Please finish Ebenezer Scrooge Essay (Due Tomorrow)
 
Wednesday, December 21 AND Thursday, December 22
1. Please compare and contrast the film to the novella 
 
Friday, December 23
Have a Happy and  Healthy Holiday Season!!! 
 
Tuesday, January 3
1. Please choose Topic for your Personal Narrative Essay (Due January 9)
2. Please begin reading Nothing But the Truth (Due January 30)
 
Wednesday, January 4
1. Please write the Introduction to your Personal Narrative Essay (Due January 9)
2. Continue reading NBtT (Due January 30)
 
Thursday, January 5
1. Please write the Body Paragraphs to your Personal Narrative Essay (Due January 9)
2. Continue reading NBtT (Due January 30)
 
Friday, January 6
1. Finish writing your Personal Narrative Essay (DUE MONDAY)
*REFER TO THE NARRATIVE ESSAY REQUIREMENTS HAND-OUT
2. Continue reading NBtT (Due January 30) 
 
Monday, January 9
1.  Please read "A Retrieved Reformation" AND answer ALL margin questions
2. Continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30)
3. Vocabulary and Literature quiz on ARR on Friday, January 13
 
Tuesday, January 10
1. Please complete questions 1-6 in "A Retrieved Reformation" packet
2. Continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30)
3. Vocabulary and Literature quiz on ARR on Friday, January 13
 
Wednesday, January 11
1. Please complete questions on LAST TWO pages of "A Retrieved Reformation" packet
2. Continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30)
3. Vocabulary and Literature quiz on ARR on Friday, January 13
 
Thursday, January 12
1. Vocabulary and Literature quiz on "A Retrieved Reformation" tomorrow
2. Continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30)
 
Friday, January 13
1. Continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30) 
 
Tuesday, January 17 and Wednesday, January 18
1. Please continue reading NBtT/plus packet (Due January 30)
 
Thursday, January 19 and Friday, January 20
1. Please review for the Midterm (refer to the review packet given out in class)
*Midterm is Monday, January 23 
 
January 23-January 27
1. Please continue reading and working on Nothing But the Truth packets
2. VOCABULARY QUIZ ON MONDAY, JANUARY 30 
 
January 26, 2017 
VERY IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING THE NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH PACKETS:
*We will be collecting ALL 3 packets (the articles packet; the literary elements packet; and the story packet) on
  TUESDAY, JANUARY 31 
 
Monday, January 30
1. Please complete ALL NBtT packets (Due TOMORROW)
 
Tuesday, January 31
*PLEASE BRING FULLY CHARGED CHROME BOOKS TO CLASS TOMORROW 
 
Wednesday, February 1
No Homework
 
Thursday, February 2
1. Please finish the "Cite Your Evidence" packet
 
Friday, February 3
1. Please begin reading The Cage (Must be finished by March 6)
*I STRONGLY suggest: Read THREE chapters a night
*FYI: There will be ANNOUNCED reading quizzes over the next several weeks 
 
Monday, February 6
1.  Write the Introduction (Rough Draft only) of the Argument Essay (Final Draft DUE: Monday, February 13)
2. Read The Cage (Chapters 4-6)
 
Tuesday, February 7
1. Write Body Paragraph #1 (Rough Draft only) of the Argument Essay (Final Draft DUE: Monday, February 13)
2. Read The Cage (Chapters 7-9)
 
Wednesday, February 8
1. Write Body Paragraph #2 (Rough Draft only) of the Argument Essay (Final Draft DUE: Monday, February 13)
2. Read The Cage (Chapters 10-12)
 
Thursday, February 9
1. Write Body Paragraph #3 (Rough Draft only) of the Argument Essay (Final Draft DUE: Monday, February 13)
2. Read The Cage (Chapters 13-15) 
 
Friday, February 10 
1. Edit/Revise/Proofread AND Type FINAL DRAFT OF ARGUMENT ESSAY (DUE MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13) 
2. Read The Cage (Chapters 16-18) 
 
Monday, February 13
1. Read The Cage (Chapters 19-21) 
 
Tuesday, February 14
1. Read The Cage (Chapters 22-24)
 
Wednesday, February 15
1. Read The Cage (Chapters 25-27)
 
Thursday, February 16
1. Read The Cage (Chapters 28-30)
 
Friday, February 17
1. Read The Cage (Chapters 31-33)
 
AFTER FEBRUARY BREAK:
*VOCABULARY QUIZ ON FRIDAY, MARCH 3 (The Cage Vocabulary Terms)
 
Monday, February 27
1. Please read The Cage (Chapters 34-36) AND answer packet questions
2. Study for The Cage Vocabulary Quiz (Quiz FRIDAY)
 
Tuesday, February 28
1. Please read The Cage (Chapters 37-39) AND answer packet questions
2. Study for The Cage Vocabulary Quiz (Quiz FRIDAY)
 
Wednesday, March 1
1. Please read The Cage (Chapters 40-42) AND answer packet questions
2. Study for The Cage Vocabulary Quiz (Quiz FRIDAY)
 
Thursday, March 2
1. Please read The Cage (Chapters 43-45) AND answer packet questions
2. Study for The Cage Vocabulary Quiz (Quiz TOMORROW)
 
Friday, March 3
1. Please read The Cage (Chapters 46-48) AND answer packet questions
*Remember: The book AND the packet MUST BE COMPLETED by TUESDAY, MARCH 7
 
Monday, March 6
1. Finish The Cage Review Packet (TEST ON THE CAGE ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 8)
* Book and Chapter Packet DUE TOMORROW
 
Tuesday, March 7
1. Please study for The Cage Test (TOMORROW)
 
Wednesday, March 8
No Homework
 
Thursday, March 9
No Homework
 
Friday, March 10
No Homework 
 
Monday, March 13
1. Please finish reading articles on Harlem Renaissance and Langston Hughes (plus, answer questions on HR)
QUIZ ON HARLEM RENAISSANCE/LANGSTON HUGHES/RICHARD WRIGHT ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22 
 
Tuesday, March 14
1. Finish reading and highlighting "Mother to Son"
2. Finish class work (packet activities on "Mother to Son")
QUIZ ON HARLEM RENAISSANCE/LANGSTON HUGHES/RICHARD WRIGHT ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22 
 
Wednesday, March 15
1. Finish reading and highlighting "Thank you, M'am"
2. Finish class work (margin questions on "Thank you, M'am")
QUIZ ON HARLEM RENAISSANCE/LANGSTON HUGHES/RICHARD WRIGHT ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22 
 
Thursday, March 16
FAMILY FUN NIGHT
 
Friday, March 17
1. Finish reading and highlighting "The Street"
2. Answer questions on "The Street" (DUE TUESDAY, MARCH 21) 
QUIZ ON HARLEM RENAISSANCE/LANGSTON HUGHES/RICHARD WRIGHT ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22 
 
 
 
 
CLOSE